banner.gif (3613 Byte)

Corner.gif 1x1.gif Corner.gif
1x1.gif You are at: Home - Discussion Forum 1x1.gif
Corner.gif 1x1.gif Corner.gif

round_corner_upleft.gif (837 Byte) 1x1.gif (807 Byte) round_corner_upright.gif (837 Byte)
Old 10-15-2004, 03:17 PM   #1
Gord

I'm back.... good news first... I don't have MS, the MRI found no evidence of that so no spinal tap

The not so good news is that he has no definite reason why I have an imbalance problem...

The neuro did say that the MRI did reveal a few areas of my brain that have "small blockages" and that I could very well have a stroke sometime down the line.

Having said all that, I will be following up with my GP on Tues about this...

Oh ya he said I have arthritis in my neck kinda funny cuz I don't have any pain in my neck lol
Old 10-15-2004, 03:27 PM   #2
Auburn Annie

Well, congratulations on ruling out MS - no white matter in the brain, eh? The doctor's comment on arthritis led me to this article. Does it apply to you?

Cervical Arthritis Symptoms
Cervical arthritis, also known as cervical spondylosis, is an osteoarthritic condition affecting the upper spine. Osteoarthritis is a form of arthritis where the cartilage in joints begins to wear away because of an accident or because of the natural aging process. In cervical spine arthritis, the vertebrae in the neck, known anatomically as the cervical vertebrae, begin to degenerate, accompanied by degeneration in the flexible disks of shock-absorbing cartilage that fit between them. These changes gradually narrow the space in the vertebra called the foramen. This narrowing causes compression on the nerves leading from the spinal cord in the neck. The nerves become inflamed, producing neck pain that may radiate to the arms.